About the château
The Full Story
From a hunting lodge to a home for aristocracy
The chateau stood as a substantial property on this site in 1750 when it was used as a hunting lodge by the bishops of Brignoles. However, the octagonal tower is thought to date from the time of François 1er.
In the late nineteenth century Lord Alfred Paget, Chief Equerry to the Royal Household and 6th child of the1st Marquess of Anglesey, famed for leading the charge in the Battle of Waterloo, acquired the chateau.
His wife, Lady Cecilia Paget, was a lady-in-waiting and wardrobe mistress to Queen Victoria, who visited the chateau and planted the magnificent pine tree that provides shade to the main terrace in honour of the birth of her godson. The Paget family owned the property for almost 100 years.
Hosting royalty and holidays as a unique family home
In 1953 the chateau was bought by the Douglas family from Arizona, USA, who were responsible for the construction of the large oval swimming pool, en suite bathrooms and spacious wardrobes.
Subsequently the chateau was the home of the Comte and Comtesse de Chambrun (Raine Spencer, the stepmother of Princess Diana who visited with her sons during holidays to the south of France). The chateau still contains Spencer furniture from Althorp, the Spencer family home in Northamptonshire.
The château is presently owned by an English family who have restored the chateau and modernised its facilities.